In short
- Five jobs, not fifty tools: notes and letters, funding reports, phones and intake, admin automation, and marketing. Most practices need one tool in each of the first three and a builder for the fourth.
- Every scribe worth considering hosts Australian data in Australia and starts free or under A$100 a month. The differences are which practice software it writes into and whether it drafts NDIS reports.
- No practice management system has a native Zapier or Make app. Admin automation runs on the API, which is why practices build it rather than buy it.
Which AI tools does an allied health practice need?
One scribe, one intake answer, one automation layer, one writing tool. Everything else is a demo.
The vendor pages that rank for this question each recommend the vendor. This map is by job, from each vendor’s own pricing and security pages fetched on 28 September 2026, and we sell none of them. Prices are in Australian dollars unless marked, and change often; check the page before you buy.
Scroll sideways to see every column.
| Tool | Job | Price | Australian hosting | Writes into | NDIS reports |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heidi Health | Scribe, notes, letters | Free tier; paid from about A$85 a month (third-party figures, vendor page shows no prices) | Yes, stated | Cliniko, Nookal, Halaxy | Not claimed |
| Lyrebird Health | Scribe, notes, letters | Free tier; Pro A$160 a month annual, A$240 monthly | Yes, stated; audio destroyed after transcription | GP and specialist systems; no Cliniko, Halaxy, Splose or Nookal listed | Not claimed |
| PatientNotes | Scribe, notes | Free start; about A$79 a month (third-party figure) | Yes, Australian data centre, 30-day purge | Cliniko, Nookal, Halaxy, PPMP, TM3 | Not claimed |
| Grounded Scribe | Scribe plus AI reception | Free 10 sessions a month; A$19 to A$99 a month | Yes, stated; ISO 27001 infrastructure | Cliniko two-way, Halaxy; Nookal coming | Yes: progress reports, FCAs, plan reviews |
| NovoPsych (NovoNote) | Psychology notes, letters, assessments | Free tier; Pro A$30 a month; Practice from A$20 a practitioner | Not stated on site | None; copy and paste | Sector listed, no templates described |
| Splose AI | Notes and reports inside Splose | A$27 a user a month on top of Splose | Yes, stated | Splose | Report drafting from notes |
| Halaxy AI Scribe | Notes inside Halaxy | 1 credit per 15 minutes, A$0.15 to A$0.22 a credit | Yes, stated; no audio kept | Halaxy | Not claimed |
| Zanda BizzyAI | Notes inside Zanda | Write free; Scribe usage charged; AI Pro A$25 a user | Yes, AWS Australia | Zanda | Not claimed |
| Coviu AI Scribe | Notes during telehealth and in person | About A$79 a user a month add-on | Yes; ISO 27001 | Coviu | Not claimed |
| Grounded Reception | AI phone answering and booking | A$19 to A$99 a month, 60 to 500 call minutes | Yes | Cliniko, Halaxy | n/a |
| aihealthcare.au | AI receptionist | A$499 to A$2,499 a month incl GST | Yes, stated | Cliniko, Bp, MD | n/a |
| Valory AI | AI receptionist | A$149 to A$499 a month plus setup from A$990 | Not stated | Varies | n/a |
| Zapier / Make / n8n | Admin automation | Free tiers; paid from US$19.99, US$12, EUR20 a month | No (US and EU) | No native app for Cliniko, Halaxy, Splose or Nookal | n/a |
| ChatGPT / Claude | Non-patient writing | Free; paid from US$17 to US$25 a seat | No, consumer plans | n/a | Never with patient data |
AI scribes: which one, and what does it cost?
Pick the one that writes into your practice software and drafts the reports you get paid for. Price is second.
If you run Cliniko or Nookal: Heidi, PatientNotes and Grounded Scribe all write the note back into the patient file, so the clinician never copies and pastes. Heidi is the most widely connected and has a free tier with unlimited transcription; it hosts in Australia and states alignment with the Australian Privacy Principles, but its pricing page shows no figures, so budget on the roughly A$85 a month that third parties report. (Heidi Health, APP compliance; Lyrebird, scribe comparison, January 2026) Grounded Scribe is the one built for NDIS work: A$19 to A$99 a month, Australian servers, and templates for progress reports, functional capacity assessments, plan reviews and reportable incidents. (Grounded Scribe pricing; Grounded Scribe, NDIS) PatientNotes sits between them, about A$79 a month, purging data after 30 days. (PatientNotes, Security)
If you run Halaxy, Splose or Zanda: start with the one built in. Halaxy’s scribe is pay-as-you-go by credit and keeps no audio. Splose AI is A$27 a user and drafts reports from the notes it took. Zanda’s BizzyAI has a free writing assistant and a usage-charged scribe. (Halaxy AI Scribe; Splose pricing; Zanda BizzyAI) Add a standalone scribe only if a clinician needs a template the built-in one lacks.
If you are a psychology practice: NovoPsych’s NovoNote pairs notes and letters with its assessment library from A$30 a month, but it does not connect to any practice software and its website does not state where data is hosted; ask before you sign. (NovoPsych pricing) Lyrebird has a strong free tier and Australian hosting, but its integrations are GP and specialist systems, not allied health ones, so the note comes back by copy and paste. (Lyrebird pricing; Lyrebird integrations)
What does the evidence say scribes save?
Less than the vendors say, more than nothing, and most of it inside the first six weeks.
The one Australian allied health study with numbers surveyed 119 clinicians and 157 patients across a private practice group after adopting a scribe. Time on notes, letters and out-of-hours documentation fell significantly at six weeks and three months, productivity rose 5.8% on average, and there was no further gain after week six. (Evans et al, Musculoskeletal Science and Practice, August 2025) A Queensland public health service surveyed 97 allied health clinicians after an ambient scribe pilot: 77.7% agreed it saved time, 94.5% wanted to keep using it, and 47.4% of patients preferred it be used again, but the study measured no minutes. (Ryan et al, Digital Health, June 2026) Heidi’s own impact report claims 59 minutes a clinician a day from aggregate platform data without a sample size. (Heidi Health, 2025 Impact Report, July 2026)
5.8%
average productivity gain in the only published Australian allied health private practice study of an AI scribe, with the gain arriving by week six and holding at three months.
Source: Evans et al, Musculoskeletal Science and Practice, August 2025. 119 clinicians and 157 patients surveyed, 15 and 14 interviewed, one private practice group.
Plan on 30 minutes a day per clinician and measure it yourself at week six. On the arithmetic in allied health practice profit margin, 30 minutes a day is worth about $16,500 a clinician a year, against a scribe cost of A$1,000 to A$2,000. The scribe pays for itself on the first clinician. It does not remove the review: the clinician reads and signs every note before saving it, and the practice tells every patient and records consent. (Ahpra, AI in healthcare guidance, reviewed August 2024)
AI receptionists: are they worth it?
For the calls you miss, yes. For the calls you answer, not yet. Count the missed ones first.
The Australian market runs from A$19 a month to A$2,499. Grounded Reception bundles phone answering and booking into Cliniko or Halaxy with its scribe tiers. aihealthcare.au charges A$499 a month for a solo practice and A$999 for five practitioners with Australian data residency and Cliniko integration. Valory AI runs A$149 to A$499 a month plus setup from A$990. OvieHealth and ClinikCalls quote on request and connect to Cliniko. (Grounded Scribe pricing; aihealthcare.au pricing; Valory AI, September 2026) The US products that rank for the search (Smith.ai, Dialzara) bill in US dollars, answer from North America and state no Australian data handling; skip them.
The case for one is arithmetic. Pull a month of missed calls from your phone system. If 60 calls a month ring out or go to voicemail and a third of those were new patients who did not call back, that is 20 first appointments and their episodes of care, several thousand dollars a month, lost to a phone. An AI receptionist that captures the name, the reason and a callback time, or books a slot straight into the diary, recovers a share of that for less than a day of a human receptionist a week. If your missed-call number is under ten, keep the human and fix the voicemail message instead.
Two rules. Callers are told they are speaking to an AI and can reach a person, and the recording and transcript stay in Australia; ask the vendor to show you where. And clinical questions get a human, always. The receptionist takes the booking; it does not tell a parent whether a two-year-old should see a speech pathologist.
If you want the missed-call count pulled and the intake flow mapped before you buy anything, tell us what you need. We do that before every practice automation build.
Automation platforms and the API problem
Zapier, Make and n8n are cheap and capable. None of them has a native app for your practice software.
Zapier starts free at 100 tasks a month and paid from US$19.99. Make starts free at 1,000 credits and paid from US$12. n8n is EUR20 a month hosted or free if you host it yourself. (Zapier; Make; n8n, pricing pages fetched 28 September 2026) The catch: Zapier has no app for Cliniko, Halaxy, Splose or Nookal, none of the four list Zapier or Make on their integrations pages, and the one Make app for Nookal is community built. (Cliniko connected apps; Splose integrations; Nookal integrations) So every automation that touches the diary (a cancellation that offers the slot to the waitlist, a completed appointment that triggers a recall in four months, a new booking that starts an intake sequence) runs through the API with webhooks or a bridge such as APIANT or Keragon, and someone has to build and maintain it.
That is why the Australian market has agencies rather than apps. Published ranges from one Queensland builder run A$1,500 to A$3,000 for reminders, A$3,000 to A$8,000 for a communications suite, and A$5,000 to A$15,000 for NDIS documentation automation. (Flowtivity, updated September 2026) Our own projects sit in the same territory and are quoted on scope. The question to ask any builder is which of the four APIs they have shipped on before, because Cliniko and Splose are documented and Zanda’s is still in closed beta. We cover that in Cliniko vs Halaxy vs Splose vs Nookal.
Admin automation in allied health is built, not bought. Ask the builder which API they have shipped on.
Marketing and writing tools
ChatGPT or Claude for the words, Canva for the pictures, and no patient anywhere near either.
Claude Pro is US$17 a month on annual billing, Team US$20 a seat; ChatGPT Plus is US$20 and Business US$20 to US$25 a seat; Canva Pro is A$165 a year with the AI features included. (Anthropic pricing; OpenAI pricing; Canva pricing, fetched 28 September 2026) These are consumer tools with no Australian hosting, so they do the writing that has no patient in it: condition page outlines, Google Business Profile descriptions, captions, job ads, review replies, policies. The exact prompts, the setup and the never list are in ChatGPT and Claude prompts for allied health practice owners.
Four questions before you buy any of them
Where is the data, is it trained on, who consents, and how do I get out. A vendor that cannot answer all four in writing is a no.
- Where is the data stored and processed? Australia, in writing, on the security page. “Encrypted” is not an answer to this question.
- Is our data used to train the model? No, in writing. Ask separately about audio, transcript and the final note.
- Who consents, and how is it recorded? The patient, before recording, with the consent stored against the appointment. Ahpra puts the transparency and consent obligation on the practitioner. Build it into intake, not into the clinician’s memory.
- How do we export everything and leave? Format, time and cost. A tool you cannot leave is a tool that will raise its price.
Then the rule that sits over all four: the clinician reviews and signs every AI-assisted document, and no patient information goes into a tool that fails question one or two. If you want a plain read on which of these your practice needs first, and which you can skip, tell us what you need. We map it against your software and your funding mix before we recommend anything.
Questions owners ask
Which AI scribe suits an allied health practice in Australia?
The one that writes into your practice software and drafts the reports you get paid for. On Cliniko or Nookal that is Heidi, PatientNotes or Grounded Scribe; Grounded Scribe is the one with NDIS report templates. On Halaxy, Splose or Zanda, start with the scribe built in. All host Australian data in Australia.
How much time does an AI scribe save?
The only published Australian allied health private practice study found a significant drop in note and letter time and a 5.8% average productivity gain, arriving by week six. Plan on 30 minutes a clinician a day, worth about $16,500 a year against a tool cost of A$1,000 to A$2,000, and measure it yourself at week six.
Is an AI receptionist worth it for a small clinic?
Only if you are missing calls. Pull a month of missed and voicemail calls first. At 60 or more a month with new patients among them, an Australian-hosted AI receptionist that books into your diary recovers a share for less than a day of a human a week. Under ten, keep the human and fix the voicemail message.
Does Cliniko, Halaxy, Splose or Nookal work with Zapier?
No. Zapier has no app for any of the four, none lists Zapier or Make on its integrations page, and the one Make app for Nookal is community built. Automation that touches the diary runs through each system's API with webhooks or a bridge, which is why it is built by a developer or agency rather than bought.
Do patients have to consent to an AI scribe?
Yes. Ahpra asks practitioners to be transparent about AI use and treats informed consent as important wherever patient data goes into an AI system, and the RACGP requires consent before a scribe records. Record it at intake against the appointment, tell the patient they can decline, and have the clinician review every note before it is saved.
Sources
- Heidi Health, Australian Privacy Principles; Heidi Health, 2025 Impact Report, 31 July 2026; Lyrebird Health, AI medical scribes compared, 1 January 2026 (source of third-party Heidi pricing).
- Lyrebird Health pricing; Lyrebird compliance; Lyrebird integrations. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- PatientNotes pricing; PatientNotes security. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- Grounded Scribe pricing; Grounded Scribe security; Grounded Scribe NDIS; Grounded Scribe integrations. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- NovoPsych pricing; Halaxy AI Scribe; Splose pricing; Zanda BizzyAI; Coviu, Compare AI notes tools, 20 September 2025. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- aihealthcare.au pricing; Valory AI, updated 16 September 2026; OvieHealth; ClinikCalls. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- Zapier pricing; Make pricing; n8n pricing; Cliniko connected apps; Splose integrations; Nookal integrations. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- Flowtivity, automation pricing ranges, updated 19 September 2026.
- Anthropic pricing; OpenAI pricing; Canva pricing. Fetched 28 September 2026.
- Evans et al, AI scribe adoption in Australian allied health private practice, Musculoskeletal Science and Practice, August 2025; Ryan et al, Ambient AI scribes in allied health, Digital Health, 18 June 2026.
- Ahpra, Meeting your professional obligations when using Artificial Intelligence in healthcare, reviewed 22 August 2024; RACGP, AI scribes, updated October 2025.